Thanksgiving in May

Wandering among the sea of white stones in Arlington National Cemetery has always been a sobering and solemn time. I can’t remember a time in the many hours spent there that I haven’t been aware of their voices. Gazing on tables of stones bearing names of those I never knew, yet knowing what they gave, has always moved me. On a few occasions I’ve witnessed the final committals of those bravehearts. I’ve watched families and loved ones reluctantly saying final good-byes as they gave their precious heroes to Mother Earth for safe keeping. Being a veteran, I am by esprit de corps, feeling a profound and personal loss.

Every Memorial Day I feel the coercion of my emotions to substantiate my regard and honor for those who have laid down their lives for those who they would never know. To this day, I have made it a habit to visit cemeteries wherever I go to give honor to those whom honor is due. We all owe a great deal to honor their memory. As President Abraham Lincoln noted many decades ago, “Any nation that does not honor its heroes will not long endure.”

Each Thanksgiving we give God our thanks for what He has blessed us with. On Memorial Day we give thanks to those who have given their lives for our freedom. Neither of these days are meant to be the focus of selfish motivation and indulgence. When someone has given so much how can we ask for more when we’ve given so little?

Click on the image above to watch a video that honors the fallen.

Memorial Day links:

The First Memorial Day

In Memory of our Honored Dead

White House Commission on Remembrance

Memorial Day Foundation

Half-Mast

One Response

  1. May God Bless those that have paid the ultimate sacrifice for freedom and for those loved ones they left behind.

Leave a Reply

