Prayers for John and Elizabeth Edwards…

When I refused to confess my sin, my body wasted away,
and I groaned all day long.Day and night your hand of discipline was heavy on me. My strength evaporated like water in the summer heat.

Finally, I confessed all my sins to you and stopped trying to hide my guilt.
I said to myself, “I will confess my rebellion to the Lord.” And you forgave me! All my guilt is gone.
Psalm 32:3-5

While the media indulged in a feeding frenzy over the news of former U.S. senator and Democratic presidential hopeful John Edwards’ admission Friday to an extramarital affair, my heart was most grieved to see and hear some Christians once again taking the low road by moralizing over Edwards’ infidelity without focusing on his restoration. Of course, there will always be those that are willing and able, in true Pharisaical form, to “cast the first stone.” This is the way of the world. However, this mindset is in stark contrast to the biblical moral prescribed in Galatians 6:1 which instructs,

“…if someone is caught in a sin, you who are spiritual should restore him gently. But watch yourself, or you also may be tempted.”

The fact is, reconciliation is at the heart of Christ’s ministry and He demands that those who follow after him will seek the reconciliation of mankind to God. This includes John Edwards. Unfortunately, too many Christian in these cases, especially those who are politically biased, are more poised to be the adversaries than advocates. (see my post, “Are You Doing the Devil’s Business?“)

There are those who will argue that John Edwards is a scoundrel, a liar, and a wretched sinner and deserves the scorn and punishment he is getting from the press. When considering that his wife Elizabeth was battling breast cancer at the time of this infidelity, Edwards definitely appears to be a totally selfish and reprobate piece of flesh deserving to be ostracized and totally discredited in the public. His actions were absolutely despicable. But considering the confession of his sin and his appeal for forgiveness from his wife, family, and his Lord (see the ABC interviews – Part 1, Part 2), it becomes imperative for anyone wearing the label, “Christian” to pray for John Edwards and his family to be completely restored to each other and for Edwards to come to a deeper relationship with the God who he calls, “my Lord.” No Christian should forget that God sent his son to the earth for sinners. John Edwards is just one more among billions of us.

Just remember what Jesus said,

if you forgive men when they sin against you, your heavenly Father will also forgive you. But if you do not forgive men their sins, your Father will not forgive your sins.” – Matthew 6:14-15

Considering this caveat, everyone calling themselves a “Christian” should be eager to forgive others of their sins, lest God see their unforgiving, judgmental spirit, and refuses to forgive the “Christian” of their sins. In addition, if we desire for others to pray for us in our times of weakness, we should seek mercy for others and pray for them in their times of shortcoming. Anythings less is indicative of one who knows nothing of being “poor in spirit.”

I am not John Edwards’ judge, but I know what being a sinner is. Knowing that fact, and by faith in the work of Jesus Christ, I know that God has forgiven me and bids me to “go and sin no more.” I think the same applies to everyone including John Edwards. My prayers are with him, his family, his supporters, and the woman he had the affair with. May they all come to the peace that “passes all understanding.”

Related Articles:

The Benefits of Getting Caught – Jeff Garrett

Forgive and You will be Forgiven – Lyle Welty

Practical Paul: Restoration – Brent Riggs

Elizabeth Edwards Statement on the Affair

.

Leave a Reply

